John Fusco

Lyric Video Premiere: John Fusco “Countrified Noise”

Listen & Watch Video Premieres

John Fusco – “Countrified Noise”

Americana Highways is hosting this lyric video premiere of John Fusco’s song “Countrified Noise,” from his recently released album Borderlands (Rocket88 Records).  Borderlands was produced and engineered by George Walker Petit with additional engineering by Ben Collette.

Musicians on the song are John Fusco on guitar and vocals; George Walker Petit on guitar and bass, and Richard Patrick Ross on fiddle, and Russ Lawton (Trey Anastasio Band) on drums.

The video is directed by Calvin West, a young filmmaker-musician from Spain, with live footage of the band playing in various settings.  The song is quite an amazing feast of sounds — 5th generation fiddle player Richard Patrick Ross, Fusco’s open- D tuning riff and cigar-box vocals, a great groove and the rest is down home fantastic.  The video grabs you to a front row seat at the campfire show.

“Countrified Noise” begged to be treated as a good old ‘fun-time’, with positive energy and again, keeping the story foremost. John and I discussed doing ‘something different’ with the lead vocal to focus the listener on the lyric and, after a number of different approaches, I settled on this treatment. It’s somewhere between an old transistor radio or ‘mono’ metallic speaker that could be coming from your old Ford pickup, and an old style telephone box…John loved it the second he heard it. Some aggressive EQ and two compressors did the job admirably. — George Walker Petit (engineer, producer, guitar and bass)

Enjoy our previous coverage here:  REVIEW: John Fusco “Borderlands”

Find links to listen to more, here;

Musicians on the album are John Fusco on vocals, piano and Hammond B3; George Walker Petit on guitar, bass, percussion and ocarina; Russ Lawton on drums; Matthew Backer on slide and dobro; Patrick Richard Ross on fiddle, mandolin and backing vocals; Ashley Betton on backing vocals; Jane Boxall on marimba; Stuart Paton on congas; Connor Young on trumpet; and Michael Hartigan on accordion.

Leave a Reply!