Jack Marion and the Pearl Snap

Song Premiere: Jack Marion and the Pearl Snap Prophets – “Lucille”

Listen & Watch Song Premieres

Jack Marion and The Pearl Snap Prophets – “Lucille”

Americana Highways is hosting this premiere of Jack Marion and The Pearl Snap Prophet’s song, “Lucille,” off of their upcoming self-titled album, Jack Marion and The Peal Snap Prophets. A self-professed love gone wrong song written by the band’s front man, Jack Marion, “Lucille” was co-produced by Marion along with Jacob Davis Martin, Micheal Minkoff, and Jimmy Smith. Recorded in Clubmen Studio in Blairsville, Georgia and Blantone Music in Marion, North Carolina, the track was mixed and mastered by Cory Halterman and engineered by Martin, Smith, and Stephen Blanton.

An entire subgenre within the country music lexicon could justly be called “heartbreak drinking songs,” and The Pearl Snap Prophets have officially submitted their entry to the cultivated collection. “Lucille” encapsulates the feeling of a staggering country jaunt on the other side of a two-day bender with a catchy chorus and sing-along lyrics set to be a staple for fans of the Prophets. Marion’s gruff country tinged voice fits the song perfectly embodying the sufferings of an alcohol infused heartbreak.

This song began after seeing a scratch in the linoleum floor of the trailer I called home for three years. From there the writing took over and the song was done in about 30 minutes with little to no rewrites. I only asked myself what happened in this trailer – I was picturing the story behind it. I call it a love gone wrong song and a love gone so wrong that the only reasonable response was for someone to blow up a trailer they called home. All I can say about it is that it’s the only country song in the history of country music that I’m aware of with the word linoleum in it and I’m proud of that. I’ve been excited for the world to meet “Lucille” and hear this story. I’m glad it’s finally out in the world. – Jack Marion

The track features Owen Myers on electric guitar; Chandler Bell on bass; Marcus Clonts on drums; Matt Guard on keys and synthesizer; Hinton Edgerton, Patrick French, Matt Guard, and Claire Lemke on backing vocals; and Marion on guitar and lead vocals.

Check out “Lucille” by Jack Marion and The Pearl Snap Prophets below:


Read our previous coverage here: REVIEW: Jack Marion and the Pearl Snap Prophets’ Debut Studio Album is a Concept Record Exploring Life and Loss in the American South






Leave a Reply!