Farm Truck

REVIEW: Farm Truck “Sadie”


Farm Truck — Sadie

Sadie, the debut album from one of Southern California’s premier alt-country bands, Farm Truck, is finally here. The ten-song album showcases lead-singer and founding member of the band, Craig Fischer’s excellent songwriting skills. Fischer has a way of telling a poignant story with his songs. Take for example the story of Sadie. The album’s namesake, Sadie, is a waitress in a podunk town, in a greasy spoon diner. All she wants to do is save enough money from her measly tips to catch a greyhound bus to anywhere else. Her story is told in the first song on the album, “Home on a Hound.”  

Other moving Fischer-penned songs include “Shot of Regret” about a woman he meets in a bar, has a few too many and ends up regretting the night. “67 Highway” is an ode to the 2-lane country highway that leads to Fischer’s hometown of Ramona.  A small town in the foothills above San Diego. 

Fischer says his biggest influences include Steve Earle, Tom Petty, and Ryan Adams. Other musical influences are red dirt country bands like Reckless Kelly and Micky and the Motorcars.  

Tim Edwards, the other founding member of the band, plays some smokin’ lead guitar, He also wrote and sings lead on the track, “That Ain’t Love.” Ashley E. Norton of Lady Psychiatrist Booth sings beautiful harmony on the track. 

Multiple San Diego Music Award winner for Americana, Sara Petite teams up with Fischer on “Baby Ride Easy”.  A song reminiscent of some of the great male/female country duos like Johnny and June, Jones and Wynette, and Lynn and Twitty.  

The album was recorded at Langdon Studios and produced by Steve Langdon, Craig Fischer and Mike Ashley.  Find more information here:

Farm Truck is Craig Fisher on vocals; Tim Edwards on guitar and vocals; Mike Ashley on guitar; Wade Maurer on bass; and Dan Renwick on drums.

Additional players on the album were Sara Petite, Ashley E. Norton and Cheyenne Benton on vocals; Aubrey Richmond on fiddle; Doug Pettibone on guitar, dobro, and pedal steel; Steve Langdon on guitar; Phil Palapiano and John Curtis on keyboards; Topher Williams on saxophone; Jonny Viau on alto saxophone; Nathan Raney on drums; Nathan Hubbard on percussion; Meri Claire Leiux on trombone; and Zach Groll on trumpet.



Leave a Reply!