Video Premiere: Jon Klages “The Fabulous Twilights”

Listen & Watch Song Premieres

Americana Highways presents this song “The Fabulous Twilights” from Jon Klages’ forthcoming album Fabulous Twilight, due to be available on April 1.

Musicians on Fabulous Twilight are Pete Thomas (from Elvis Costello’s band, the Imposters) on drums; Davey Faragher on bass; Neil Larsen (George Harrison, Leonard Cohen, and Rickie Lee Jones) on piano and Hammond organ; and Arnold McCuller (James Taylor, Lyle Lovett, Bonnie Raitt) on background vocals with Klages and the Honey Whiskey Trio.

This is quintessential throwback, put-your-head-on-my-shoulder doo-wop.  Fall into the sway of a twilight dance.   

The third track on my album Fabulous Twilight takes its name from the doo-wop group Nathaniel Mayer and the Fabulous Twilights, who had a hit with their 1962 single ‘Village of Love.’ On the day of my song’s recording, I shared some vocal ideas with Arnold McCuller, who transformed them into glorious backgrounds, layering harmony upon harmony until he created his own doo-wop group — The Fabulous Arnolds! The song is brought to visual life through the wonderful motion graphics of Alexis Meir. —Jon Klages

Leave a Reply!