Song Premiere: Alice Peacock’s “Dry Spell”

Listen & Watch Song Premieres

Americana Highways presents this song premiere of Alice Peacock’s “Dry Spell” from her upcoming album Minnesota,  due out on September 20th.  “Dry Spell” is Alice Peacock on vocals, Chris Donohue on bass, Wayne Kirkpatrick on acoustic guitar, Phil Madeira on Wurlitzer and backing vocals, and Bryan Owings (Emmylou Harris) on drums.

Minnesota was produced by Phil Madeira, recorded by Sean Sullivan, mixed by Derri Daugherty and mastered by Richard Dodd with additional recording by Phil Madeira.  With an easy driving rhythm, “Dry Spell” recreates a moody reflective holding pattern: “gray skies are so unrelenting … so many cracks in the pavement.”  Peacock is a masterful writer, and with the addition of Will Kimbrough on the album, Minnesota is sure to absorb you all the way through.

I like to describe “Dry Spell” as that fallow time after new motherhood; when I wasn’t sure if I was ever going to create again or if I was even the same person as I was before. I had to trust that the muse wouldn’t fail me and I could breathe through the uncomfortable anxiety of the unknown. — Alice Peacock

Order here:

Leave a Reply!