Song Premiere: Josh Gray’s “Songs of the Highway”

Listen & Watch Song Premieres

Americana Highways brings you this premiere of the title track “Songs of the Highway” from Josh Gray’s debut album due to be released April 16. The album was produced by Drew Carroll (Promised Land Sound, The Deslondes) with additional production and mixing provided by Andrija Tokic (Alabama Shakes, Margo Price) and mastered by John Baldwin (Merle Haggard, Willie Nelson). Larissa Maestro (Deer Tick, Eminem) provided a unique string arrangement for the protest anthem on the album.

“Songs of the Highway” is Josh Gray on guitar and vocals, Tucker McKee on electric guitar, Kenzie Miracle on fiddle, Julio Matos on upright bass, Jason Munday on drums, Philip Sterk on pedal steel, Ian Miller on piano with Kyshona Armstrong and Alexis Saski on background vocals.

Stay tuned, for we predict Songs of the Highway will absolutely be on several top debut albums lists this year.  “Say señorita won’t you pour one for me” introduces the “Songs of the Highway,” and soon the layers of violin and pedal steel guitar follow one another in sequence as instrumental call and response.  The haunting yearnings that result from a long time on the road is palpable, and as the musical energy wells up, spills over and subsides once more, the lyrical metaphors of crossing borders and boundaries follow in turn.

This song to me is about the isolation required to pursue your dreams. The feeling when you think of those back home after the high of the crowd has worn off. — Josh Gray

Pre-order here: while you’re listening right here:

1 thought on “Song Premiere: Josh Gray’s “Songs of the Highway”

Leave a Reply!