Song Premiere: Jim White “Sum of What We Have Been”

Listen & Watch Song Premieres

Americana Highways presents this premiere of Jim White’s song “Sum of What We Have” from his forthcoming album Misfits’ Jubilee, out Oct. 23.  The album was mostly recorded at Studio Caporal in Antwerp, Belgium. Musicians are Jim White, with Marlon Patton on drums, Geert Hellings on guitar and banjo, and Nicolas Rombouts on electric and stand-up bass and keys.

Jim White fans will be happily amazed at the joyfulness in this song.  Its clear bright tones echo its uptempo enthusiasm. You might even label this trendy indie folk but for the signature Jim White depth and layers.

I’m known for my sorrowful story songs so I’m stumped about how this one came to be. Right before I wrote it I’d been having recurring dreams where Bruce Springsteen would appear, just incidentally —pumping gas in his car (an AMC Hornet), walking through some brightly lit doorway, that kind of thing— so maybe The Boss is the one to blame for how this song came floating into my brain. —Jim White Find the album, when it’s time, here: (US) and here: (EU)

1 thought on “Song Premiere: Jim White “Sum of What We Have Been”

Leave a Reply!