Album Premiere: Grain Thief “Gasoline”

Listen & Watch Song Premieres

Americana Highways brings you this premiere of Grain Thief’s album Gasoline, due out on Friday. Gasoline was produced and engineered by Dan Bui at Wachusett Recording — with assistance by Casey Dawson — and mastered by Margaret Luthar at Welcome To 1979. The cover art is by Sally Jablonsky.  Gasoline is Alex Barstow on 5-string violin and vocals; Tom Farrell on resonator guitar and vocals; Patrick Mulroy on guitar and vocals; Zach Meyer on mandolin, cajun accordion, and vocals; and Mike Harmon on bass, percussion and vocals, with Andrew Hannigan on “Tequila Bottle.” All songs were written by the band.

Gasoline is replete with angelic stringed qualities in an authentically raw sound.  This album is really therapy in disguise under the quality arrangements.

“Gasoline” is our earnest attempt at capturing our true live sound. We got rid of all the distractions of the studio and focused on songwriting, arranging, and musicianship. Our final day of tracking was the day before lockdown began in Massachusetts. Though this pandemic has certainly changed our plans for the album, we nevertheless feel incredibly fortunate to have finished it when we did, and it means a lot to be able to share this music at this time. — Patrick Mulroy

Order here: or here:

Leave a Reply!