Listen: Premiere of Nobody’s Girl (BettySoo, Rebecca Loebe and Grace Pettis) Title Track “Waterline” From Upcoming Album

Listen & Watch Song Premieres

Americana Highways brings you the premiere of the title track “Waterline” from the new EP by Nobody’s Girl, releasing on Lucky Hound Music on September 28.  Nobody’s Girl is the dynamic trio from Austin: BettySoo (of Charlie Faye and the Fayettes), Rebecca Loebe and Grace Pettis.  The EP was produced by Michael Ramos and recorded by Kelleigh Flynn, then mixed by Asher Zeitschik and mastered by Dave McNair.

This album features these artists who trade off lead vocals and have had the rare good chemistry of having been able to write great songs in a short period of time.  On “Waterline” BettySoo performs the lead vocal, with Grace Pettis and Rebecca Loebe in rich, tripartite harmonies. They are backed by David Grissom on guitars, Michael Ramos on keys and percussion, Glenn Fukunaga on bass and J.J. Johnson on drums.

“This is not where I thought I’d be right now… We stood on the rafters, a natural disaster, a wreckage of happily ever after:” their soaring vocals identify the experience and we’ve all been there, one way or another.  One listen to this song and it’ll commiserate and help you wash it all away like a much needed night out with your best friend.   The ethereal mix of their voices will evoke something eternal that’ll clarify why they called themselves the Sirens on their recent tour:  something calling down through the ages and absolutely universal and irresistible is afoot.

This song has a lot of meaning for us. It touches on themes that carry weight: loss of innocence, good intentions gone wrong, and surviving trauma. Experience and growth allow us to see the waterlines of our history, giving us perspective and helping us get our bearings; to see clearly how far we’ve come.

Listen right here!

Leave a Reply!